Disability Employment Awards

inclusion Works small

The Harford County Commission on Disabilities Employment Recognition Awards

Each year, the Harford County Department of Community Services and the Commission on Disabilities celebrates the employment of citizens with disabilities at a luncheon to recognize these amazing employees and employers who make a difference.

Nominations for 2018 will open soon in the following categories:

Employer of the Year
Employee of the Year
Student Worker of the Year
Accessibility Award
Ruth Helen Thompson Memorial Award for Community Service
Media Award
Volunteer of the Year
Veteran of the Year

2017 Employment Award Recipients


  • Large Employer of the Year:  U.S. Army Communications-Electronics Command (CECOM)
  • Medium Employer of the Year:  Citizen's Care and Rehabilitation Center
  • Small Employer of the Year:  Next Generation Mechanic
  • Employee of the Year:  Samantha Amend
  • Employee Awards of Merit:  Ben Smith, Brian Blevins, Greg Streett, Justin Hayden, Tiffany Corbin,
    and Zewdu "Zee" Gebreyesus
  • Student Worker of the Year: Aaron Fender
  • Ruth Helen Thompson Memorial Award for Community Service:  Robin Fiastro
  • Volunteer of the Year:  Lisa Ruley

2017 Employment Recognition Award Recipients and Dignitaries

2017 Disabilities Luncheon Award Recipients
From left, back row: Chad Shrodes, Harford County Council; Anastasios Dernelakis, Small Employer of the Year and coowner Next Generation Mechanics; Mike Perrone, Harford County Council; Richard Slutzky, president, Harford County Council; and Lydia Brennan representing Harford County Councilman Curtis Beulah; Second row, from left: Rachel Harbin, Harford County Disability Services; David Pickett, U.S. Army CECOM; Brian Blevins, Employee Merit Award recipient; Dimitri Dernelakis; Small Employer of the Year and co-owner Next Generation Mechanics; Robin Fiastro, Ruth Helen Thompson Community Service Award recipient; Amber Shrodes, director of Harford County Community Services; Tiffany Corbin, Employee Merit Award recipient; Jade Gingrich, director of employment policy, MD Dept. of Disabilities; and Zewdu Gebreyesus, Employee Merit Award recipient; Front row, from left: Liz Miranda, U.S. Army CECOM; Greg Streett, Employee Merit Award recipient; Lisa Ruley, Volunteer of the Year recipient; Ben Smith, Employee Merit Award recipient; and keynote speaker Cory Richo, Department of Rehabilitation Services. Not pictured: Samantha Amend, Employee of the Year; Aaron Fender, Student Worker of the Year; and Justin Hayden, Employee Merit Award recipient.